Cauliflower & Egg Salad Recipe

Cauliflower & Egg Salad Recipe

 A CREATIVE COOKING MOMENT FROM MY KITCHEN

Mealtimes in my home can be hectic. Sometimes it’s hard to make healthy meals and make enough to feed all of us, especially at the end of the month when I’m working with the last of the month’s groceries. However, with a little creativity, you can extend your dwindling food supply. I’ve come up with a recipe here that my family really enjoyed, and I hope you will too.

THE PROBLEM:

It was lunchtime, and I had 6 hungry folks to feed but only 6 hard-cooked eggs. 6 eggs weren’t going to fill these bellies. I needed some way to make the most of the ingredients I had.

THE SOLUTION:

Egg salad made with cauliflower in place of more eggs. (Cauliflower has a light flavor that does well as an egg or potato substitute in many recipes.  Cooked cauliflower would make a great low cal potato salad too, which I may just have to try next time!)

THE RECIPE:
6 hard-cooked eggs, cooled & peeled
1 16 oz bag of frozen cauliflower; cooked, cooled, & chopped into small pieces
1 cup light mayo (or 1/2 cup light mayo and 1/2 cup plain yogurt)
4-6 T yellow mustard
1/4 cup dill pickle relish
1/2 T onion powder
1 t paprika
Himalayan sea salt and pepper to taste

Mix all of the above ingredients in a bowl, using a potato masher to break the eggs into smaller pieces. I find that egg salad is best after it has been refrigerated for a bit to let the flavors meld together, but this can be eaten right away too. Enjoy it eaten alone, with crackers, or made into a sandwich on your favorite bread!

Eggs are yummy and full of protein. I don’t know about you, but I just can’t live without eggs! Hard-cooked, scrambled, egg salad, deviled eggs, Scotch eggs, veggie omelets, egg-drop soup… yum yum!

 HAVE A SUNNY SIDE UP DAY!

Leave a Reply

