Hawaiian Sand & Surf Cake

Hawaiian Sand & Surf Cake

I’m really enjoying my new-found hobby: making cakes! It’s not easy work, but my days of sculpting clay are paying off 🙂
My client for this cake wanted a cake for her husband’s 60’s Hawaiian theme birthday, and she wanted surfing incorporated.

August 2013 044 August 2013 045

I started by covering the cake with white fondant. Then, I hand-painted the sides, using a Hawaiian shirt for inspiration. The borders are piped icing, but the rest is colored fondant with some dusting powder and hand-painted details.

August 2013 049

I made the surf boards in advance and pushed skewers into the center, so that I could let them harden and then stick them into the cake.

Hope you found some inspiration in this fun cake!

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

