Homemade Hand Lotion Recipe

I came across this hand lotion recipe a while back and made it a few times. I just love this stuff! There are variations using Vaseline or other ingredients, but I like that this one uses coconut oil. If you don’t know all of the benefits of and uses for unrefined coconut oil, I strongly urge you to Google it! It’s amazing!

20140522-120303-43383692.jpg

RECIPE:
16 oz. of your favorite scented lotion
8 oz. Vitamin E Cream
8 oz. extra virgin coconut oil (room temperature)

Blend all of the ingredients together with a mixer until creamy and frosting-like consistency. Store in air-tight containers.

On a side note: be sure to tell your family members that it’s NOT frosting, in case they come home when your back is turned. I was saving the last little bit in the bowl to put on my elbows before bed, and my hubby came up to me with a look on his face and asked what was in the bowl in the kitchen. It must’ve tasted awful! Oops 🙂

20140522-124402-45842365.jpg

20140522-124402-45842029.jpg

Feel free to use any kind of lotion scented or unscented in this recipe. I used a Bath&Bodyworks lotion I had gotten as a gift, which has more of a perfume-like scent and a soft turquoise tint. The first time I made it I used baby lotion, which gave it a nice subtle scent and a pretty pink color.
When using coconut oil, it will have a hit of coconut scent, so you may keep this in mind when choosing your ingredients.

3 ingredient hand lotion.jpg

20140522-130855-47335437.jpg

This lotion makes a great gift, so why not dish it out into sweet little jars and make some labels! I added the recipe to the labels too. That way my friends can whip up more when they run out.
P.S. I made only half a batch this time, because I only had enough ingredients for half, and it filled a preserve jar and two small jars. It’s also worth mentioning that the two small jars are empty vitamin E cream containers. And the original labels peeled easily off! Reduce, reuse, recycle, right?! 🙂

Here’s to healthy happy skin!!! Have a gorgeous day!!!

Leave a Reply

