Black & White Sharpie Mural

I was so pleased with my first few attempts at using Sharpie markers (check it out here:https://kellygenelife.wordpress.com/?s=sharpie+wall&submit=Search) to create designs on my walls, that I just can’t stop! Here are some pics of my latest project using Sharpie markers (I prefer the Sharpie Professional for wall designs).

sharpie wall mural

black and white wall art with sharpie marker

For the half wall, I drew the design first with Sharpie marker and then filled in around the design with black semi-gloss paint.

sharpie marker mural by Sarah at Kelly Gene

sharpie marker mural art by Sarah at Kelly Gene

mural done with Sharpie marker by Sarah at Kelly Gene

I had a lot of fun with the details. Instead of trying to disguise or ignore the outlets and switch plates, I framed them in various patterns. I think it makes them fit in much better.

Sharpie marker wall designs by Sarah at Kelly Gene

Some of you might recognize these book titles as the fruit of the Spirit. I incorporated a lot of little meaningful details like that. There’s also a tea pot that reminds me of my mom, and tulips that remind me of the ones my husband would buy for me.

designs done with Sharpie marker by Sarah at Kelly Gene

Black and White wall design by Sarah at Kelly Gene

sharpie marker mural artwork by Sarah at Kelly Gene

There are no pets in our home (mostly due to my intolerance for pet hair and lack of desire for more messes haha), so I drew pets for my kids. They seem to really like it. I’ve seen my youngest two pretending to pet them.

owl mural art by Sarah at Kelly Gene

As you can see, I didn’t aim for perfection. I left brush strokes and mistakes. I like the character it gives it. You can tell it’s hand done rather than stencils, and I like that.

20140626-073517-27317880.jpg

mural by Sarah at Kelly Gene

Funny story behind this little spot: when I first drew the bird, it looked as though it was going to attack the squirrel, so I added flowers in between the two to make it look more like the bird was coming to perch on the vine. Haha!

mural artwork by Sarah at Kelly Gene

This section was inspired by suggestions on my Facebook page. I had posted a photo of the unfinished areas and asked for ideas. I think the butterflies and coat hook are cute additions that i hadn’t thought of myself. My mom had the idea to add a growth chart area to keep track of my kiddos’ heights, but unfortunately, I didn’t see her suggestion until after I’d finished. I may try to fit one in anyway, though.

Mural designs by Sarah at Kelly Gene

 

Well, I hope you found this post inspiring enough to try out in your own home. Just let loose and have fun with it. And keep in mind that it’s about expressing yourself and not about perfection.

2 thoughts on “Black & White Sharpie Mural

Leave a Reply

