Rainbow Surprise Cake

My niece wanted a rainbow birthday party, and I can’t wait to deliver this cake to her! And the best part about this cake is the inside! The cake layers are rainbow colors, and I filled the center with Skittles!

Here’s how to make it:

You’ll need 6 layers, each a different color. I had three 8-inch round cake pans, so I made my cake in batches. I made 2 batches of the following recipe:

1 box white cake mix

3 egg whites

1 cup sugar

1 cup all purpose flour 

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract 

1/2 teaspoon almond extract

A pinch of salt


Mix all of the ingredients on medium speed for 2 minutes and divide into 3 bowls. Add gel food coloring to each bowl to make 3 different colors. (I used 2 cups of batter per color.) Pour each colored batter into a greased cake pan (again, I used 8-inch round pans). I prefer to use Wilton Cake Release to make sure my cakes come out of the pan cleanly. Bake cakes according to instructions on the box of cake mix. Let cool 15 minutes in the pans, then transfer to a cooling rack to cool completely. Repeat these steps to make the rest of your rainbow layers.

Once your layers are cooled, level the tops with a cake leveler or sharp knife.


At this point, you can frost and assemble your cake like you would any layer cake. But if you want to fill your cake with candy like I did…

Set aside the top and bottom (purple & red) layers. Stack the remaining layers (do NOT frost yet!). Find something round to act as a guide to cut a circle out of the center of the stacked middle layers. I wrapped plastic wrap around a soup can & it worked perfectly!

Now you have 2 whole layers and 4 ring layers like this:

Time to stack and frost your cake! Start with purple layer & DO NOT FROST CENTER OF BOTTOM LAYER.

Then add each additional layer, frosting in between each. Follow rainbow order working from bottom up, so:

Purple base

Blue

Green

Yellow

Orange

Red on top


Before you put on the top layer, fill the center with candy! 


Then add the red layer. TIP: flip this layer upside down, so the flatter underside becomes the top of your cake and the cut side is down. Frost your cake completely with a thin layer of buttercream frosting (called a crumb coat). Refrigerate for a half an hour or so. Then you’re ready to frost your cake with another layer of frosting or cover with rolled fondant.

I covered my cake with white fondant and then added strips of colored fondant to make a rainbow wrapping down and around the side. TIP: to adhere fondant pieces onto the cake or onto another piece of fondant, use a small bit of water and a food-safe paint brush. It doesn’t take much water to make the fondant stick together.

Then I rolled various size balls of white fondant to create clouds. 

I then added balls of colored fondant to the white areas. I used a small cake decorating tool to create a little indention in each. 


I thought there was too much white, so I decided to create some colored flowers. Then I painted some turquoise onto the clouds, using a drop of food coloring mixed into a bit of clear almond extract. You can also use vodka or clear vanilla or lemon extract.

This cake was a lot of fun. I love making colorful cakes, but I never had anyone ask for a rainbow one before. And I’ve been waiting for an excuse to make a piñata/surprise cake. I’m so glad my brother gave me the opportunity!

Happy baking! And thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

