DIY Sunflower Wall Art

Sunflower Wall Art_SKelly

I had a bunch of these raffia fans leftover from a bridal shower. They lended themselves perfectly as flower petals for my new wall art! Here’s how to make one of your own:

You’ll need a sturdy natural material woven charger or placemat (roughly 14″ diameter), 9 raffia handheld fans, some embroidery floss, a needle and a thimble. I got my charger at Target on the clearance rack, and the fans were bought years ago online. They are like these raffia fans from Oriental Trading Company.

SunflowerArt_Sarah Kelly

 

Choose embroidery floss or thick thread that will blend with the color of the charger. Here, I used brown embroidery floss. Attach raffia fans to the back, spacing them out evenly around the charger & threading in between the weave of the charger. Having a thimble will be very helpful to push the needle through, especially if your charger is as tightly woven as mine. You could use hot glue in addition, to add a bit more stability once you have the fans in place. You might even get away with using just hot glue and skipping the needle and thread completely, but I wasn’t sure how durable it would be with just hot glue holding it together. I’ve had glue just peel right off of some projects before.

Once the fans were all sewn on, I added some additional thread to make a loop on the back for hanging. That’s pretty much it!

Sunflower Wall Art by Sarah Kelly

As always, thanks for stopping by!

3 thoughts on “DIY Sunflower Wall Art

Leave a comment