DIY Bird Costume 

My son is a baby blue bird in his school musical and needed a costume. I showed him some images from Pinterest, but he didn’t like any of them. So, I was on my own, but the idea of using feathered boas came to mind and I ran to the store for supplies. Then I checked our closets for any clothes I could use. I found an old long-sleeves blue t-shirt, some cotton shorts and some yellow tights.

For this Costume, you’ll need:

  • 6 feathered boas (4 blue boas & 2 white ones)
  • Needle & thread
  • Scissors
  • 2 sheets of yellow felt
  • 1 sheet of blue felt 
  • 2 buttons
  • A long-sleeve blue t-shirt & matching shorts
  • Yellow tights

Unfortunately, I didn’t take any pictures of the process. Sorry!

I hand stitched the boas onto the shirt, starting with the white belly, then the arms, then the blue around the belly and then the back. I left about 5 inches at the bottom of the back of the shirt empty (mainly because I ran out of boas). So I decided to cut a blue tail from felt & attach it to the center of the bottom of the shirt & add some of the last of the blue feathered boa to the felt tail. As you can see in the photo, it doesn’t seem to matter at all that I left so much unfinished space in the back. Feathers are very forgiving that way. 😁


I left quite a bit of space between the rows of feathers too. You can make your rows closer together, but will likely need more boas…and more patience, haha! This is a tedious process. And you will have many feathers to clean up along the way! But the finished Costume is so adorable it’s worth it!


To make the feet, cut a three-toed foot from a sheet of yellow felt. Leave a band at the top to wrap around the child’s ankle. Wrap the band around your child’s ankle to check the fit & attach a button to one side and cut a slit in the other. (If you’d prefer, Velcro would be a great alternative to the button closure.)


To make the hat, you’ll need:

  • Yellow & blue craft paint
  • Paint brush
  • Hot glue /hot glue gun
  • Large googley eyes
  • Plain white baseball cap

Paint the hat blue & the bill yellow. Allow to dry a few hours. Then use hot glue to attach two goggles eyes. I found it helpful to put the hat on a small basketball to hold it’s shape while I painted it.

My son is thrilled with his costume, and I can’t wait to see feathers fly while he dances around on stage, haha!

Have a beautiful day! 

Leave a comment